All Corsa Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll start by saying hi as this is first post here.

I just bought my first car a vauxhall corsa 1.2 premier in green and I didn't look at the mot certificate untill I got home. (I know that was probably a stupid thing to do) it has advisories for slight play on the back wheels and slight chassis corrosion and an oil leak ( yet to find out where as it hasn't left any marks on the floor where it's been parked for a couple of days)

All in all is this really bad or not so bad? It only just had its mot and is valid till the end of the year. Sorry if I sound really dumb I'm just new to all this! Thanks in advance any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

·
Registered
131 Posts
If as you say its advisory it is nothing to worry about at the moment,or it wouldn't have passed its MOT.These are generally things that you are informed to keep your eye on that may require attention in the future,and may need it before the next MOT.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you for your help, i think that to say its nearly 20 its in pretty good shape for it :) will just need to learn how yo keep this corrosion under control if indeed you can at all, before it falls apart, thanks again.

·
Banned
147 Posts
Give the rust a bit of a rub down and a coat of smooth hammerite. Its not the cheapest paint but gives quite good results painted straight onto rust. And 20 years old? Thats nothing. One of my cars was still going strong at 82 years of age thanks to hammerite.

Dont apply thick coats of underseal . This only makes mot testers suspicious of what may be hidden underneath. :thumbs_up: