All Corsa Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi !

I am new to Corsa's (currently have a MK3 Astra) but think a Corsa may be my next car as I try to squeeze a few more MPG out of my wallet, the possible candidates seem to be 2002-2006 models.

Can anyone give me any pointers of what models to look out for in terms of economy and reliability ? It will mostly be used for school runs and to and from my appointments around town.

I am considering petrol and diesel and really wahnt to be sure which of each are the engines to go for or to avoid to get the best chances or reliability and economy. I heard that some Corsa's have Fiat engines that are less reliable is that correct ?

ALso are there any particular considerations regarding insurance group and tax band or are they all about the same ?

Regards,

Frosty

·
Registered
8,525 Posts
The 1.3cdti is an appalling engine, designed by satan himself, and forged from molten hate. :laugh: Never known anything modern that's less reliable
The 1.7cdti is fantastic though. Both are Fiat, but the 1.7 is a good engine.
The petrols are GM engines. The 1.0 sounds appealing for fuel consumption, but realistically, you end up driving it harder to make up for it's lack of grunt even if you don't consider yourself to be heavy footed. Best petrol for MPG I'd say is the 1.2

If you want really cheap, the 1.5td Corsa B is great. They're cheap reliable and will return 60mpg. And if you fancy a bit more power you can turn the boost and fuelling up with a screwdriver :D

·
Registered
9,410 Posts
If I was buying a Corsa C on grounds of cheap running costs I'd go for the 1.2 petrol as well. Just make sure it's been well serviced. They use a timing chain rather than a belt which is good news if it's had plenty of oil changes. If servicing is poor the chain can wear and get noisy and replacement is more expensive than changing a timing belt.