All Corsa Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Frank here,

Just a quick question hope some of you experts will have a solution.

When im driving on a flat or slight incline the yellow engine light comes on at around 40mph.

The car feels as though im taking my foot of the gas peddle and power is restricted, the light only goes out when i do infact remove my foot off the peddle and them powerup again.

Its frustraiting as hell especially when the paper lad peddles past on his bike.

I know i have to replace a section of the exhaust as i can hear it starting to blow a bit, but i dont think its this as down hill it fly's.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Frank

·
Registered
291 Posts
I am not very technical, but sure I had this problem in my last corsa and it turned out to be a number of things, including leads and plugs that used to be faulty (one of the leads used to pop itself off and the car would go down to 3 cylinders!) Maybe a good check around the engine bay would do no harm!

Sorry I cant be of more help!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thats going to be my next step but i thought i might find some answers here just in case its a regular thing

Cheers
Frank

·
Premium Member
15,222 Posts

·
Registered
1,266 Posts
what engines in the car? ive had this problem on a few 1200 16v's and it turned out after being told its a service issue that it was in fact the afm

d

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
Yeh chances are its the air meter. My car has done the same thing as what your describing twice now and both times a replacement air meter has solved the problem. Have you drilled your airbox or put an induction kit on the car?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
engine light

Thanks Everine,

I will give the paperclip test a go and see how it goes, Hopefully its only the air meter.

I will let you all know.

Frank

Oh by the way its the 1200 16V.

·
Registered
2,198 Posts
Thanks Everine,