All Corsa Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im not technical with cars at all, thought i should start with that. But do you think i may have damaged my handbrake?

The car park i use for uni is on a hill, and i was always worried my handbrake wouldn't hold out because i though i might not have put it on high enough. (Im only little, and not very strong, weird i know but i honestly felt the need to put it on higher) So the first time i did it, when i went to drive home (i use my handbrake if im at traffic lights on a hill) the handbrake wasn't holding at all, but the next day it was totally fine and was what i would consider to be back to normal.

Again the over day i parked in a space where i felt i needed to put it on a tad higher, because the only spots were near the canal. When i put it on it did make a strange noise i don't recall it ever making before, and again on the way home it wouldn't hold on a hill. But the next time i went out a few days after it wasn't working properly. If i stopped on a hill and put my handbrake on then let go of my handbrake it would roll back a tad, but if i reapplied my foot brake at the same time and then remove it slowly it would hold.

Have i done something to it? As i say im not good with cars, but i realise that its probably not going to get better on it's own, i though it had the first time, but it probably didn't.

Possible problems? expensive?

Not sure if it helps but i have a Corsa C
Thank you

·
Registered
24,002 Posts
Sounds like it may be getting stuck (the cable) runs along the rear beam, and through a little bracket. Sometimes this bracket gets filled with road grime etc and stops
Cable moving freely.

May also be down to the rear brakes (Corsa uses brake shoes) wearing which means less friction is occurring. Or stretched or damaged handbrake cable.

I think as its inconsistent it may be a case of the first option

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·